Objects as portraits

I knew that i hadnt pushed my work far enough. So decided to have another quick tutorial with Jamie to ask for his advice. We went through the images id already done and flicked through others that i hadnt worked with yet. As we were going through them we came to the conclusion that i was looking at using objects as portraits and one of the images i was to take inspiration from for the others was one i already had, of myself.

DSC_0715 (2)

This was just a picture id taken of a cluster of the things id thrown on my bedside table, but it was a portrait of me. No one else would have this exact mess of objects on their bedside table, it was unique to me. So i decided to create more images like this, but mainly focusing on my family and also focusing on one aspect i related to them. For example; for me, my glasses.

I the rest of my family i chose:

  • Mum: diabetic equipment
  • James (little brother): guitar or electronics
  • Richard (older brother): his ring
  • Dad: screws or DIY things

I began to look at their bedside tables and where they kept clusters of things they owned, i then photographed these areas after id worked out a composition with the objects. I tried to focus on the items id picked out for them.

For each of my family members i chose one of these images and cropped a couple too. This was done to create a better composition and to add a little variety between landscape and portrait in my work. I think that these image really do capture how i see my family members. Each of the items in the images are personal to them, they’re their belongings, in their environment. Here are those i chose:

DSC_0715 (2)

DSC_0865 (2)

DSC_0984

DSC_1016

DSC_1031 (2)

 

I sent each of these to Jamie and he approved of them. Framing will be discussed with Jo.